The gazetteCredit · 20 November 2026
Consumer credit in France: the 14-day withdrawal, early repayment and the rules of 20 November 2026
This guide prepares consumer-credit withdrawal and its effect on the financed purchase. Until 19 November 2026, the ordinary period is 14 days from acceptance; requested immediate delivery can shorten it. For credit concluded from 20 November, later receipt of contract information moves the starting date and that delivery no longer shortens the period. Returning funds already paid after withdrawal is different from early repayment of a loan you keep.
Julie by AlphaDeep is an AI legal assistant for French law: it researches official references to help answer your questions (Légifrance, case law, service-public), analyses your documents and drafts your letters, for individuals and professionals alike.
General legal information with official references and dated checks. It is not personalised advice: for a decision that commits you, have your situation checked by a qualified professional.
Let’s look at your situation
Give the date you accepted the offer, the type of credit and, for a financed purchase, the delivery date.
Example questions
Your question carries over after signup. Maximum 400 characters. Avoid health data and names.
What changes for consumer credit in France, and when?
The 2025 ordonnance, its entry into force and what happens to running contracts.
Ordonnance n° 2025-880 transposes the EU consumer credit directive and rewrites the Consumer Code, coming into force on 20 November 2026 (article 99).
Source: Ordonnance n° 2025-880
The rules apply to credit up to €100,000, with no minimum, instead of €200 to €75,000; interest-free deferred payments remain excluded, except when the seller is a large company concluding the contract online (articles L312-1 and L312-4).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-1 · L312-1, new version · L312-4, new version
Withdrawal: the 14 days run from acceptance of the offer or, if later, from receipt of the contract information; without an offer or information, the period ends at the latest 12 months and 14 days after the contract, and it does not run if the right was not disclosed (article L312-19).
Source: L312-19, new version
Financed purchase: immediate delivery no longer shortens the withdrawal period, and goods returnable for a refund for more than 14 days extend the period by that much (articles L312-47 and L312-20).
Sources: L312-47, new version · L312-20, new version
Early repayment: the borrower is entitled to a reduction in the total cost of the credit, fees included, in proportion to the remaining term; the 1% or 0.5% penalty beyond €10,000 over 12 months is unchanged (articles L312-34 and D312-15).
Sources: L312-34, new version · Consumer Code D312-15
Which rules apply before and after 20 November 2026?
The rules for contracts taken out before that date, and those for contracts taken out after it.
| Rule | Taken out until 19 November 2026 | Taken out from 20 November 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Credit covered | €200 to €75,000 | Up to €100,000, no minimum |
| Start of the withdrawal period | Acceptance of the offer | Acceptance, or receipt of the information if later |
| Offer or information never received | 14 days from acceptance | 12 months and 14 days at most |
| Right of withdrawal not disclosed | 14 days from acceptance | The period does not run |
| Immediate delivery of a financed purchase | Period shortened to delivery, 3 to 14 days | 14-day period kept |
| Refund guarantee over 14 days | No extension | Period extended by the return period |
| Costs after withdrawal | No penalty | Non-recoverable fees paid to a public authority |
| Early repayment | Remaining interest and fees not due | Pro rata reduction of the total cost, fees included |
| Early repayment penalty | 1% or 0.5%, beyond €10,000 over 12 months | Unchanged |
Credit contracts running on 20 November 2026 stay under the old rules, except a few provisions for open-ended credit (ordonnance n° 2025-880, article 99).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-1 · L312-1, new version · L312-4, new version · Consumer Code L312-19 · L312-19, new version · Consumer Code L312-47 · L312-47, new version · L312-20, new version · Consumer Code L312-26 · L312-26, new version · Consumer Code L312-34 · L312-34, new version · Consumer Code D312-15 · Ordonnance n° 2025-880

Until when can you withdraw from your credit?
Give the date you accepted the credit offer and, for a financed purchase, the delivery: the gazette applies the rule of your contract date. The example: an offer accepted on 23 November 2026, information received on 27 November.
Fictional example · gazette of your credit
Withdrawal possible until 11 December 2026.
- Rule that applies
- contract taken out since 20 November 2026
- Start of the period
- 27 November 2026
- Last day to withdraw
- 11 December 2026
Contracts taken out until 19 November 2026
- 14 days from acceptance of the offer
- Immediate delivery: period shortened, 3 to 14 days
- Credit from €200 to €75,000
Contracts taken out since 20 November 2026
- 14 days from acceptance, or receipt of the information
- Immediate delivery: 14-day period kept
- Credit up to €100,000
Applicable provisions
In view of your contract and the Consumer Code:
- Offer accepted on 23 November 2026: the contract falls under article L312-19 in its version of 20 November 2026.
- A period of 14 days from 27 November 2026, the later of acceptance and receipt of the information: until 11 December 2026; it is met if you send the withdrawal before it ends (article L312-19, II and IV).
- If the funds have been paid, return the capital and the interest accrued within 30 days of sending your withdrawal (article L312-26), the lender being able to claim only non-recoverable fees paid to a public authority.
- Use the detachable form in the contract (article L312-21); service-public advises a registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt (fiche F2435).
Indicative analysis: a mortgage follows other rules, and the contract sets the acceptance date.
How long do you have to withdraw from a consumer credit?
For credit taken out until 19 November 2026, 14 full calendar days from acceptance of the offer, with no reason needed (Consumer Code, article L312-19). The contract includes a detachable form (article L312-21), and service-public advises sending it to the lender by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt (fiche F2435).
For credit taken out from 20 November 2026, the 14 days run from acceptance or, if later, from receipt of the contract terms and information, and the period is met if the withdrawal is sent before it ends (article L312-19, version of 20 November 2026). Running contracts keep the old rules (ordonnance n° 2025-880, article 99).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-19 · Consumer Code L312-21 · Service-public F2435 · L312-19, new version · Ordonnance n° 2025-880
What happens to a purchase financed on credit if you withdraw?
The sale is cancelled automatically, with no penalty, if the borrower withdraws, and the seller refunds any advance on simple request (articles L312-52 and L312-53); the borrower’s obligations only start on delivery (article L312-48). If the buyer asked for immediate delivery, withdrawal cancels the sale only within 3 days of accepting the credit (article L312-52).
Until 19 November 2026, that immediate delivery ends the credit withdrawal period on delivery, between 3 and 14 days after acceptance (article L312-47). For credit taken out from 20 November 2026, it no longer shortens it (new article L312-47).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-52 · Consumer Code L312-53 · Consumer Code L312-48 · Consumer Code L312-47 · L312-47, new version · Service-public F2434
How do withdrawal and early repayment of a retained loan differ?
If you keep the loan and want to repay it sooner, the early loan repayment statement guide prepares that different decision. The following rules distinguish it from withdrawing from the credit agreement.
Yes, at any time, in whole or in part; interest and fees for the remaining term are not due. No penalty for an authorised overdraft, a repayment made by the credit insurance or a variable-rate period; otherwise, beyond €10,000 repaid over 12 months, the lender may charge 1% of the amount repaid if more than 1 year remains, 0.5% if not, never more than the interest still due (articles L312-34 and D312-15).
For credit taken out from 20 November 2026, the borrower is entitled to a reduction in the total cost of the credit in proportion to the remaining term, taking account of all fees imposed by the lender (new article L312-34).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-34 · Consumer Code D312-15 · L312-34, new version
If the funds have already been paid, what must you repay?
After withdrawing, the borrower returns the capital and the interest accrued at the contract rate since payment, without delay and at the latest 30 days after sending the withdrawal; the lender is entitled to no penalty (article L312-26).
For credit taken out from 20 November 2026, the lender may only claim non-recoverable fees it paid to a public authority (new article L312-26). Service-public notes that the funds of a personal loan can only be paid 7 days after signing (fiche F2435).
Sources: Consumer Code L312-26 · L312-26, new version · Service-public F2435
What does article L312-19 of the Consumer Code say?
The withdrawal period for credit taken out until 19 November 2026.
L’emprunteur peut se rétracter sans motifs dans un délai de quatorze jours calendaires révolus à compter du jour de l’acceptation de l’offre de contrat de crédit comprenant les informations prévues à l’article L. 312-28.
In English, briefly (our summary, not an official translation): The borrower may withdraw without giving reasons within fourteen full calendar days from the day of acceptance of the credit offer containing the information required by article L312-28. From 20 November 2026, the period runs from the later of acceptance of the offer and receipt of the contract information (article L312-19 as amended by ordonnance n° 2025-880).
What do borrowers ask about consumer credit in France?
Do you have to justify withdrawing from a credit?
No: the borrower withdraws without giving reasons, using the detachable form attached to the contract (Consumer Code, articles L312-19 and L312-21).
When are the funds of a personal loan paid?
At the earliest 7 calendar days after signing, if no withdrawal has been made (fiche F2435).
Does a credit signed before 20 November 2026 change rules?
No: running contracts stay under the old rules, except a few provisions for open-ended credit (ordonnance n° 2025-880, article 99).
Is a penalty due for an early repayment of €8,000?
No: the lender can only charge one if early repayments exceed €10,000 over 12 months (articles L312-34 and D312-15).
Does repayment by the credit insurance trigger a penalty?
No: no penalty is due when the early repayment is made by the credit insurance, nor for an authorised overdraft or a variable-rate period (article L312-34).
Which texts and fiches is this gazette based on?
- Consumer Code, article L312-19, version in force until 19 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-19, version of 20 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Ordonnance n° 2025-880 of 3 September 2025 on consumer credit, article 99Légifrance, Journal officiel, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-21 (withdrawal form)Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-26, version in force until 19 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-26, version of 20 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-34, version in force until 19 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-34, version of 20 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article D312-15 (€10,000 threshold)Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-47, version in force until 19 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-47, version of 20 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-52 (cancellation of the sale)Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-53 (refund of advances)Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-20, version of 20 November 2026 (refund guarantee)Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-1, version in force until 19 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-1, version of 20 November 2026Légifrance, in French
- Consumer Code, article L312-4, version of 20 November 2026 (exclusions)Légifrance, in French
- Personal loan (fiche F2435)Service-public.fr, in French · checked by the publisher on 20 May 2025
- Credit tied to a purchase (fiche F2434)Service-public.fr, in French · checked by the publisher on 25 June 2025
- Consumer Code, article L312-48 (obligations from delivery)Légifrance, in French
Texts cited last checked: 26 September 2026